Sharing and celebrating the achievements of GP Trainees in Severn

The School of Primary Care and the Severn Faculty RCGP were delighted to host the MDU GP Trainee Excellence Awards and Michael Lennard Reception on Wednesday 24th July to celebrate the achievements of all GP trainees who have completed their training this year. 

All trainees were commended for successfully attaining MRCGP and completing GP training in Severn this year, and welcomed to the Severn Faculty RCGP at the Michael Lennard Reception. In addition, trainees who had been shortlisted for the Excellence Awards each gave a short presentation about their many and varied activities. The breadth of activities and levels of achievement were certainly impressive. The winners of the Robin While prize, Excellence Awards and Patch Awards were announced and presented with their prizes. Congratulations to you all! 

We were joined by our guest speaker Jamie Andrew.  At the height of his climbing career, Jamie was caught in a storm after completing the North Face of les Droites in the French Alps. He developed severe hypothermia and frostbite, requiring quadruple amputation. Jamie has subsequently gone on to climb several mountains and run the London marathon. His story was certainly moving and inspiring. 

We would like to thank all the sponsors for their support in both funding the prizes and supporting the event. 

Both the School of Primary Care and the Severn Faculty RCGP were pleased to see so many trainees and their guests, educators, Deanery and Faculty colleagues at this year's event, and anticipate that this will continue to be an annual celebration of GP training in Severn. We will confirm the date and details for 2014 as soon as we have them.

Excellence Awards 


Academic/Research Excellence Award - £200.00
Dr Clare Hollister

Sponsored by Avon LMC


Clinical Excellence Award - £200.00
Dr Jennifer Jefferies

Sponsored by Wesleyan Medical Sickness


Learning and Development Excellence Award - £200.00
Dr Tessa Hicks

Sponsored by MDU


Green Practice Excellence Award - £200.00
Dr Daniel van de Klee

Sponsored by Tim Ballard


Leadership Excellence Award - £200.00
Dr Emma Keane

Sponsored by Frome Medical Practice



Medical Work outside GPST Programme
Joint prize winners (£200.00 each)
Dr Catherine Boinett
Dr Layla Derweesh

Sponsored by Severn Faculty RCGP


Personal Achievement outside Medicine - £200.00
Dr Brian Mackay

Swindon Trainers’ Group


Dr Robin While Prize £500.00
Dr Clare Hollister


Patch Awards



GPST Programme (Patch) Award, one award for £100 for each Programme, all sponsored by Brisdoc:


Dr Emma Keane




Dr Sarah Whittal-Williams




Dr Emily Lake




Dr Phil Macmillan




Dr Tessa Hicks